The Elena B. and William R. Schonfeld Scholarship is awarded annually in the School of Social Sciences to the outstanding undergraduate in the next to graduating class who combines excellence in scholarship with dedication to the university community and the highest level of achievement in other fields.

Amount Award: $1000.00


  • Nominations are made by department chairs in the early Spring and selection is made by the School's Executive Committee.

Past Recipients

2019: An Thien Nguyen (Political Sciene)

2018: Truong Xe (Social Policy and Public Service, Business Economics)

2017: Samantha Ku (Political Sciene)

2016: Yareli Castro (Political Sciene)

2015: Medha Asthana (Anthropology and Business Administration)

2014: Sanaa Khan (Political Science and International Studies)

2013: Sasha Sabherwal (Political Science, Women's Studies and International Studies)

2012: Pichaya (Peach) Kositsawat (Political Science and Comparative Literature)

2011: Dalar Abolian (Political Science)

2010: Curtis Brown (Political Science)

2009: Christopher Cialeo (Political Science)

2008: Melanie Lim (Political Science)

2007: Shahrzad Radbod (Political Science)

2006: Ashley Brenner (Anthropology and History)

2005: Holly Gerhard (Psychology)



© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766