We are not your standard school. Like Peter, our beloved Anteater mascot, we’re quirky and different. And we aren’t afraid to break the mold in order to adapt to our increasingly interconnected world. Below, meet our leadership team that helps make it all happen here in social sciences. Or you can check out our org chart for a visual rundown on all things soc sci.

Note: All undergraduate enrollment matters are handled by the Social Sciences Undergraduate Student Affairs Office. This includes dean’s authorization, signature and/or enrollment issues. Please direct these inquiries to socsci@uci.edu or call 949.824.6803 or visit SBSG 1201.


Bill Maurer


Assistant Dean

Rebecca Avila


Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies

Michael McBride


Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies

Jeanett Castellanos


Interim Associate Dean, Equity

Barbara Sarnecka


Vice Associate Dean, Equity

Mimi Liljeholm

Division Senate Assembly

Anita Casavantes Bradford,
Chicano/Latino Studies

Eve Darian-Smith,
Global & International Studies

Joachim Vandekerckhove,
Cognitive Sciences

Kai Wehmeier,
Logic & Philosophy of Science


Executive Committee

Kristin Turney,
Sociology | Chair

Philip McCarty,
Global & International Studies | Vice Chair

Raul Fernandez,
Chicano/Latino Studies

Rachel Goldberg,

Erin Lockwood,
Political Science

David Meyer,

Kristen Monroe,
Political Science

Davin Phoenix,
Political Science

Lauren Ross,
Logic & Philosophy of Science


Administrative Offices

Business Office
 SSPA 5129

 SBSG 5406

Computing Services
 SSPB 1288

Dean's Office
 SBSG 5218

Development Office
 SBSG 5412

 SSPA 1185

Graduate Studies
 SST 323

Personnel/HR Office
 SBSG 5210

Undergraduate Student Affairs
 SBSG 1201



© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766