The University of California, Irvine Alumni Association will honor 22 accomplished individuals at the 2024 Lauds & Laurels ceremony on October 10, including six distinguished social sciences Anteaters:

  • Bruce Endsley ’74 economics – Outstanding Alumnus Athlete (Men’s Volleyball)
  • Allison Lim ’15 political science and sociology – Distinguished Young Alumna, Chief of Staff, California State Assembly
  • Martha Morales Hernandez, ’17 sociology, Ph.D. ’24 sociology – Outstanding Graduate Student (also the 2017 L&L Outstanding Undergraduate Student)
  • Kelsey Morgan ’10 international studies, Ph.D. ’24 – School of Social Ecology Distinguished Alumnus
  • Tony Ortiz ’98 psychology – School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Distinguished Alumnus
  • Shelley Thunen ’90 economics, MBA ’92 – School of Social Sciences Distinguished Alumnus, CFO, RxSight

The association’s highest honor, the Extraordinarius award, will go to Sir David MacMillan, Ph.D. ’96, for his significant contributions to the university and the broader community.

“David MacMillan’s remarkable achievements not only bring pride to his alma mater but also exemplify the excellence UC Irvine fosters,” said Brian Hervey, vice chancellor for university advancement and alumni relations and president of the UCI Foundation. “His groundbreaking work serves as a testament to the caliber of scholars produced by our institution.”

Since earning a Ph.D. in chemistry at UC Irvine – which he calls transformative – MacMillan has profoundly impacted the scientific world. He received the Nobel Prize in 2021 for his trailblazing work in chemistry, notably for pioneering asymmetric organocatalysis chemical synthesis methods that facilitate medicine development. MacMillan serves as the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry at Princeton University.

“UC Irvine changed, shaped and amplified my life in so many measurable and immeasurable ways,” MacMillan said. “It was the start of my research career, and I am honored to receive this recognition from the institution that played such a pivotal role in shaping my journey.”

MacMillan was also honored as a knight bachelor by Queen Elizabeth II as part of her 96th birthday celebration and Platinum Jubilee. He was acknowledged for his significant scientific contributions and influence, earning him the title of “Sir.”

The Lauds & Laurels ceremony is one of UC Irvine’s most long-standing traditions, hosted by the UC Irvine Alumni Association and its board of directors. It recognizes those who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to the university’s values through exemplary service, professional excellence and personal achievement.

“The Lauds & Laurels ceremony is a testament to the enduring impact of the Anteater community and its dedication to making a difference,” Hervey said. “We are proud to celebrate these individuals who embody the spirit of excellence and service that defines UC Irvine.”

Fifteen Anteaters will be honored as Distinguished Alumni at the October event – each representing a different UC Irvine school or unit:

  • Pamina Barkow ’03, MBA ’16 – The Paul Merage School of Business
  • Tracy Carmichael ’03, Ph.D. ’13 – School of Education
  • Jonathan H. Chen, Ph.D. ’09, M.D. ’11 – Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences
  • Sean Garcia-Leys, J.D. ’16 – School of Law
  • Manu Gulati, M.S. ’95 – The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
  • JohnRey Hassan ’10 – Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
  • Harry Herr, M.D. ’69 – School of Medicine
  • David Israelsky ’03 – School of Humanities
  • Sana U. Khan ’86 – School of Biological Sciences
  • Kelsey Morgan ’10, Ph.D. ’24 – School of Social Ecology
  • Tony Ortiz ’98 – School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Susan L. Polan, Ph.D. ’94 – Program in Public Health
  • Darcy Prevost, M.F.A. ’09 – Claire Trevor School of the Arts
  • Jeffrey Thomson, MA ’69, Ph.D. ’72 – School of Physical Sciences
  • Shelley Thunen ’90, MBA ’92 – School of Social Sciences

Additional honorees are:

  • Bruce Endsley ’74 – Outstanding Alumnus Athlete
  • Martha Morales Hernandez, Ph.D. ’24 – Outstanding Graduate Student
  • Allison Lim ’15 – Distinguished Young Alumna
  • Amy S. Ricks – Outstanding Staff Achievement
  • Hassan Shaikh – Outstanding Undergraduate Student
  • Toshiki Tajima, Ph.D. ’75 – Outstanding Faculty Achievement

The 53rd Lauds & Laurels ceremony will be held at the Hyatt Regency Irvine. For more information, visit

For sponsorship opportunities, contact Julia Burton, director of UCIAA business development, at For media inquiries, contact Jessica Arnaldo, UCIAA marketing and communications manager, at


-Jessica Arnaldo, UCI Alumni Association

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766