The Order of Merit is awarded annually to approximately 2% of the Social Sciences graduating class. Students are recognized for their academic excellence, original research, leadership activities, and service contributions to the School of Social Sciences, UCI campus, or community. We are especially pleased that this marks our 41st year in which we can honor our very best and most accomplished students. Also receiving special recognition are 17 undergraduate and graduate students honored with individual scholarships and awards.


Zaineb Aboud, International Studies
Miriam Aguilar, Chicano/Latino Studies and Psychology
David Chang, Political Science and Criminology, Law & Society
Faith Couts, Social Policy & Public Service
Margaret Diaz, Anthropology and Political Science
Yusuf Ezzeldine, Cognitive Sciences
Yawen Feng, Economics and Education Sciences
Juan Andres Garcia, Language Science
Steven Gong, Economics and Political Science and Human Biology
Janice Hui, Psychology
Katie Kao, International Studies
Jee Yoon Kim, Sociology
Emily Lee, Cognitive Sciences
Linlan Ma, Quantitative Economics
Andre Ngo, International Studies
Vivian Nguyen, Psychology
Janette Padilla, Sociology
Eisa Razzak, Political Science
Mia Redelings, Anthropology
Gavin Repman, Political Science and History
Zitlalli Sanchez, Social Policy & Public Service and Political Science
Samantha Shigenaga, Sociology
Shannon Syracuse, Language Science
Sara Tang, Quantitative Economics
Ren-Hui Michelle Tham, Cognitive Sciences
Cassidy Wong, Cognitive Sciences
Yixin Xu, Quantitative Economics


Chengyijing Wang, Quantitative Economics
School of Social Sciences Outstanding Honors Thesis Award

Kayla Atkinson, Psychology and Sociology
Caesar D. Sereseres Award

Mehreen Mahida, Political Science
Elena B. and William R. Schonfeld Scholarship

Andrew Nguyen, Political Science
David Rosten International Education & Community Service Scholarship

Giselle Guzman, Psychology and Social Ecology
Outstanding Community College Transfer Student Scholarship

Duc (Moon) Nguyen, Economics and Political Science
School of Social Sciences Alumni Academic Excellence Scholarship

Kayla Atkinson, Psychology and Sociology
Black Lives Matter Scholarship

Carlos Alberto Olivares, Chicano/Latino Studies
Alice B. Macy Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Award

Jasper Dwyer, Social Policy & Public Service and Urban Studies
Justice and Equity Research Paper Award


Colin Reinhardt, Economics
Charles A. Lave Paper Prize Award

Katelyn Malae, Sociology
Justice and Equity Research Paper Award

Alisson Rowland, Political Science
Outstanding Service

Daniel Firoozi, Economics, and Jingyi Wu, Logic & Philosophy of Science
Outstanding Scholarship

Martha Morales Hernandez, Sociology, and Canton Winer, Sociology
Kathy Alberti Prize

Arman Azedi, Sociology, and Zaoying (Cherry) Ji, Sociology
Kimball Romney Award

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766