Since 1983, the Order of Merit recognition has been given to the top 2% of social sciences undergraduates who best exemplify a commitment to academic distinction, leadership and service to the school, campus and community. On June 10, the School of Social Sciences hosted its annual ceremony to honor these outstanding students:
  • Aliza Asad
  • Medha Asthana
  • Daniel Cano
  • Amy Carr
  • Negin Fatahi
  • Stephanie Fernandez
  • Veronica Franco
  • Sara Garcia Arellano
  • Harwood Garland
  • Karen Godinez
  • Amy He
  • Jason Hedy
  • Jazmyne McNeese
  • Ayesha Nadiadwala
  • Nancy Santiago
  • Cortes Tatiana Sarkhosh
  • Jessica Shi
  • Lizeth Tamayo
  • Advaith Thampi
  • Estefania Valois

Also receiving special recognition at the ceremony are the following undergrad and graduate scholarship and award winners:

Graduate Students:

  • Susan Duncan Cognitive Sciences Kathy Alberti Award Edelina Burciaga Sociology Outstanding Graduate Student Service Dana Moss Sociology 2016 Lauds & Laurels Outstanding Graduate Student
  • Benjamin Feintzeig Logic & Philosophy of Science (LPS) Outstanding Graduate Student Scholarship
  • Michael Sacks Economics A. Kimball Romney Award for Outstanding Graduate Research Paper “Public and Club Goods When Private Costs Have Negative Externalities.”
  • Jessica Monnet | Ph.D. candidate in Economics Charles A. Lave Paper Prize Award “The Effect of a Preschool Education on Cognitive and Non-Cognitive Ability.”

Undergraduate Students

  • Kathryn Romo | Political Science & Chicano/Latino Studies Alice B. Macy Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Award “Mexican American Women in the 1950s: A Gendered and Racialized Experience.”
  • Estefania Valois | Political Science Caesar Sereseres Outstanding Service Award
  • Yareli Castro | Political Science Elena B. and William R. Schonfeld Award
  • Lynn Liu | Social Policy and Public Service David Rosten International & Community Service Scholarship
  • Estefania Valois | Political Science Alumni Academic Excellence Scholarship
  • Ana Lomeli | Cognitive Sciences Outstanding Transfer Student Scholarship
  • Amy Carr | Psychology Outstanding Undergraduate Honors Thesis “The Use and Accuracy of the Recognition Heuristic in Two-Alternative Decision Making.”
  • Laura Hunerberg | Sociology Outstanding Undergraduate Honors Thesis Honorable Mention “What do Holidays Mean? A Cross Cultural Analysis.”

Congrats to our 2016 recipients!


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766