The Order of Merit is awarded annually to approximately 2% of the Social Sciences graduating class. Students are recognized for their academic excellence, original research, leadership activities, and service contributions to the School of Social Sciences, UCI campus, or community. We are especially pleased that this marks our 38th year in which we can honor our very best and most accomplished students.

Edith De La Paz
Anthropology & Psychology

Adriana Perera

Aidan Dong
Economics & International Studies

Ana Morales-Galvan
Chicano/Latino Studies & Psychological Science

Ana Ortiz

Angel Lira
Political Science & International Studies

Angelica Busciglio

Anushka Silva
Political Science & Public Health Policy

Berna Idriz
International Studies & Political Science

Danyang Ma

Ebere Akaegbu

Elizabeth Cootsona
Social Policy & Public Service

Esmeralda Hic
Chicano/Latino Studies & Earth Systems Science

Gabriella Chadsey
Political Science

Hazel Jackson
Cognitive Sciences

Ivan Vukojevic
Political Science & Economics

Jaesup Kim
Business Economics

Jason Fairchild
Political Science

Jing Liu
Business Economics & Education Sciences

Jonathan Ellett

Katrya Ly
Social Policy & Public Service

Kimberly Escalante
Political Science & Spanish

Lara (Nur) Kirandag

Longxiang Dai
Economics, Math & Data Science

Mai Tawfik
International Studies & Political Science

Maria Ramos Martinez

Mariel Tisby
Cognitive Sciences

Mehdi Zolfaghari
International Studies

Michelle Abundis
Political Science

Michelle Nguyen
Political Science, History & Education Sciences

Naomi DeLuna

Natalie Berrios
Chicano/Latino Studies & Criminology, Law & Society

Nathan Robbins

Saul Lua
Economics & Political Science

Seyed Kosari Fard
Business Economics

Shiyao Wang

Siwen Chen
Business Economics

Sydney Smanpongse
Sociology & Political Science

Taleen Nazarian
Political Science & Criminoloy, Law & Society

Terence Chen

Victoria Cheng
Business Economics

Yueyue Chen
Business Economics

Yvette Sanders

Zeinab Kachakeche
Language Science



Also receiving special recognition are the following award winners:

Nhi Van Pham, Political Science and Sociology
Recipient of the Alice B. Macy Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Award
"Uprooted: The Social, Academic, and Adjustment Experience of Vietnamese International Students"

Langou Lian, Sociology Ph.D. Student
Recipient of the Charles A. Lave Paper Prize Award
"Unprecedented Changes in Americans' Attitudes Toward Same-Sex Relations From 1974 to 2016: Sociohistorical Contexts, Explanations and Heterogeneity"

Shelby Smith, Social Policy & Public Service
Recipient of the School of Social Sciences Outstanding Honors Thesis Award
"Palestinian Identity in Arab Israeli Schools: An Examination of Psychosociocultural Factors Influencing Teachers' Cultural Pedagogy"
Recipient of the David Rosten International Education & Community Service Scholarship
Recipient of the Elena B. and William R. Schonfeld Scholarship

Nara Avakian, Sociology
Recipient of the Outstanding Community College Transfer Student Scholarship.

Rachel Lee, Political Science senior
Recipient of the School of Social Sciences Alumni Academic Excellence Scholarship
Recipient of the Elena B. and William R. Schonfeld Scholarship

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766