Since 1983, the Order of Merit recognition has been given to the top 2% of social sciences undergraduates who best exemplify a commitment to academic distinction, leadership and service to the school, campus and community. On June 15, the School of Social Sciences will host its annual ceremony to honor these outstanding students:

  • Ivette Aragon
  • Arely Acuna Avilez
  • Eliza Collison
  • Fareshte Erani
  • Kevin Yu-Chien Fu
  • Jeff Gibson
  • Kier Groulx
  • Sharon Ho
  • Henry Long Kan
  • Valerie Ky
  • Linh K. Le
  • Leslie May Legaspi
  • Heriberto Meza
  • Lourdes Morales
  • Nadia Nikroo
  • Megna Patel
  • Jose Quintana
  • Jacqueline Rodriguez
  • Sasha Sabherwal
  • Daria Slepenkina
  • Florian Termin
  • Michelle Vasquez-Ruiz
  • Kevin Wang
  • Ashley Wright
  • Devin Yaeger
  • Skyla Zhang

Also receiving special recognition at the ceremony are the following undergrad and graduate scholarship and award winners:

Graduate Students

  • Patrick Button, Economics, Kathy Alberti Award
  • Lila Kooklan, Political Science, Outstanding Graduate Student Service
  • Samuel Fletcher, Logic & Philosophy of Science, Outstanding Graduate Student Scholarship
  • Sheila Xiao, Demographic & Social Analysis, Outstanding Master’s Student
  • Dana Moss, Sociology, A. Kimball Romney Award for Outstanding Graduate Research Paper


  • Hillary Patton, Psychology, Alice B. Macy Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Award
  • Leslie May Legaspi, Political Science, Caesar Sereseres Outstanding Service Award
  • Sanaa Khan, Political Science, Elena B. and William R. Schonfeld Award
  • Hakop (Jack) Azatyan, Sociology, David Rosten International & Community Service Scholarship and Outstanding Transfer Student Scholarship
  • Sasha Sabherwal, International Studies, Political Science, & Women’s Studies, School of Social Sciences Alumni Award for Excellence Scholarship
  • Dana Hua, Economics, School of Social Sciences Outstanding Undergraduate Honors Thesis
  • Travis Cyronek, Economics, Charles A. Lave Paper Prize Award and School of Social Sciences Outstanding Undergraduate Honors Thesis

Congratulation to all of this year’s recipients!

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766