Since 1983, the Order of Merit recognition has been given to the top 2% of social sciences undergraduates who best exemplify a commitment to academic distinction, leadership and service to the school, campus and community. On June 15, the School of Social Sciences will host its annual ceremony to honor these outstanding students:

  • Soobin (Kristen) Ahn, psychology
  • Kylie Baranowski, political science
  • Jesus Camacho, political science
  • Claudia Cheffs, political science
  • Mark Dennison, Jr., psychology
  • Batya Fields, sociology
  • Diana Garcia, Chicano/Latino studies
  • Wendy Mercedes Guzman-Rangel, Chicano/Latino studies
  • Lucas Hahn, political science
  • Felipe Hernandez, political science
  • Tyler Hunt, political science
  • Rocio La Rosa, international studies
  • Denise Leon, psychology
  • Estefanía Lòpez, political science
  • Shadia Mansour, anthropology
  • Maritza Mantilla, political science
  • Adrienne K. Thuy Anh Nguyen, anthropology
  • Sonam Nitin Patel, anthropology
  • Ali Rahmanipour, psychology
  • Kriti (Shruti) Sharma, international studies
  • Bereket Shibeshi, sociology
  • Nayab Syeda, sociology
  • Bonnie To, business economics
  • Emily Whitley, sociology
  • Malena Wilson, psychology
  • Pardis Zand, business economics

Congratulation to this year’s 26 recipients!

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766