The William F. Podlich Fellowship on Democracy offers support to incoming graduate students who participate in the Center's graduate training program on democracy. Applicants should be interested in the study of the democratic process in America or abroad, especially processes aimed at reforming, improving or expanding democracy. The fellowship is a gift to the Center from William F. Podlich, a nationally respected finance expert and one of the co-founders of Pacific Investment Management Company (PIMCO) in Newport Beach. The Podlich Fellowship translates his interest and involvement in American politics into direct support for students who will study the foundations of democracy in their research and graduate studeies. Podlich has provided support and guidance for the development of UC Irvine's Center for the Study of Democracy. Podlich also is a recipient of the UCI Medal and a member of the UCI Foundation. These fellowships provide first-year stipends and/or fees for students who enter the Ph.D. program in political science at UC Irvine and participate in the Center's Democracy Fellows program.

Donate online to the Podlich Fellows program.

The Podlich Fellows:

2013: Megan Brooker, BA, Haverford College, MPA, Washington State University
2013: Jason Mueller, BA, Stony Brook University
2011: Katelyn Finley, BA Washington and Lee University
2010: Dana Moss, BA Loyola College, Maryland; M.A. Villanova University
2009: Kenneth Chaiprasert, BA, UC Los Angeles; JD, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2008: Peter Miller, BA, Reed College
2007: Sharmaine Jackson, BA, University of Colorado, JD Rutgers University
2007: Fatima Rahman, BA, UC San Diego, MA UC Riverside
2006: Karl Kruse, BA, Texas Christian University
2006: Michelle Peria, BA, University of Washington
2005: Lorien Jasny, BA, Columbia University
2005: Reuben Kline, BA, Hiram College
2004: Jill Harper, BA, Michigan State University
2004: Willy Jou, BA, UC Berkeley
2003: Adam Martin, BA, California Lutheran University
2002: Catherine Corrigall-Brown, Western Ontario University
2002: Natalie Masuoka, BA, California State University
2001: Michele Budz, BA, University of Texas
2001: Matt Barreto, BA, University of New Mexico
2000: Michael Latner, BA, California State University, Chico
2000: Susan Kupperstein, BA, UC San Diego
2000: Lindsey Harrison Lupo, BA, UC Santa Barbara
1999: Erik Faleski, BA, SUNY Binghamton

Michael Struett, BA, UC Berkeley
Kim DeFronzo, BA, UCLA
Brian Adams, BA, University of Southern California
Chris Gianos, BA, UC Irvine; MA, SDSU
Mark Gray, BA, UCLA

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766