The Justine Lambert Graduate Prize in the Foundations of Science, established by a generous bequest from the sons and friends of Justine Lambert, is awarded every other year to the best submitted graduate paper dealing with the foundations of the formal, natural or social sciences. The winning paper will focus on the foundational issues arising in one or more of the special sciences, using tools, methods and results from scientific practice to cast light on the conceptual, philosophical, and scientific relevance of those issues. The competition is open to all graduate students at the University of California, Irvine regardless of department or school affiliation. Please direct inquiries to

Award amount: $2000 (awarded as a stipend/fellowship)

Past Recipients

2013: Recipients:Benjamin Feintzeig and Cailin O'Connor (logic & philosophy of science)

2010: Jim Weatherall (Logic & Philosophy of Science)

2009: John Manchak (Logic & Philosophy of Science) and Elliott Wagner (Logic & Philosophy of Science)

2007: Rory Smead (Logic & Philosophy of Science)

2005: Kevin Zollman (Logic & Philosophy of Science)

2002: Christopher Doble (Mathematical and Behavioral Sciences)

Note: The pattern of awarding the Prize in alternating years was first established in 2005

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766