The Chancellor’s Award of Distinction acknowledges the University of California, Irvine’s most outstanding graduating seniors. Awarded by the UC Irvine Alumni Association, these students represent exceptional academic achievement and a commitment to cutting-edge research, leadership and service to UCI. Selected by a committee of alumni, recipients can be identified by the blue and gold shoulder cord worn with their commencement regalia.

The School of Social Sciences is happy to have among its outstanding class of graduates 13 of the campus’s 35 award recipients in 2013:

  • Soobin Kristen Ahn, psychology
  • Soraya Azzawi, political science  
  • Sara Bashir Bangloria, political science
  • Leila Bidad, political science
  • Jesus Manuel Camacho, political science
  • Dillan Naresh Damodar, economics
  • Bima Joseph Hasjim, psychology
  • Felipe De Jesus Hernandez, political science
  • Tyler Henry Hunt, political science
  • Sonam Nitin Patel, anthropology
  • Nayab Syeda, sociology
  • Bonnie To, business economics
  • Mazamir Yousefi, international studies and political science

Congratulations to all 2013 recipients! Tune in online June 15 to watch social sciences’ graduation ceremonies live.

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766