The Scholar of Distinction recognition honors a highly selective group of the very best undergraduate students graduating from the School of Social Sciences. In addition to outstanding academic achievement in the classroom, these students have significantly enhanced their educational experience at UCI through involvement in scholarly research, participation in study abroad opportunities and internships in a variety of fields along with making substantial contributions to the campus and larger community.

2011 Recipients

Summa Cum Laude

  • Sierra Noelle Baroldy, International Studies
  • Jessica Lee, Psychology
  • Ahmad Qazi, Political Science
  • Caroline Sisk, Anthropology
  • Paul Riscalla, Business Economics

Magna Cum Laude

  • Curt Brown, Political Science
  • Lisa Caruso, Psychology
  • Christopher Celaya, Political Science
  • Manita Choudhary, International Studies
  • Lauren Elder, Psychology
  • Eric Helms, Economics
  • Ellen Kern, International Studies
  • Jiraporn Rungvivatjarus, Business Economics
  • Omar Ramos, Economics
  • Brandon Shiaw, Economics
  • Digo Takahashi, Political Science
  • Boris Wong, Quantitative Economics
  • Jaclyn Wong, Sociology
  • Miranda Young, Economics

Cum Laude

  • Leah Acosta, Psychology
  • Jeanette Baldonado, International Studies
  • Christy Carrillo, Psychology
  • Iris Chan, Business Economics
  • Alice Chang, Political Science
  • Joanna Chang, Economics
  • Pierre Demian, Political Science
  • Mindy DeYoung, Psychology
  • Alexandra Epler, Psychology
  • Claudia Fu, Political Science
  • Lisa Gaglioti, Sociology
  • Vilma Garcia, Chicano/Latino Studies
  • Katherine Knight, International Studies
  • Kirsten Lagerborg, Quantitative Economics
  • Cindy Le, Sociology
  • Philana Li, Sociology
  • Stephanie Lim, Psychology
  • Tammy Lin, Business Economics
  • Marlene Ma, Psychology
  • Nahal Nikroo, Anthropology
  • Deanna Ong, International Studies
  • Erika Parkins, Political Science
  • Oscar Rojas Perez, Chicano/Latino Studies
  • Ann Marie Gizelle Orellana, Psychology
  • Neema Pithia, Anthropology
  • Alaura Rice, Political Science
  • Emily Sairafian, Political Science
  • Jennifer Wang, Business Economics
  • Dennis Yu, Economics

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766