The School of Social Sciences hosts an annual Order of Merit ceremony to honor its most outstanding students. Since 1983, the Order of Merit recognition has been given to the top 2% of social sciences undergraduate students who best exemplify a commitment to academic distinction, leadership and service to the school, campus and community. Additionally, undergraduate and graduate programs recognize select student award winners at the annual ceremony.

2012 Order of Merit Recipients

  • Dalar Abolian**                
  • Jaime Allen**            
  • Adrian Arias**     
  • Brenda Ayon Verduzco*        
  • Saba Basria**            
  • Myles Brady*        
  • Francesca Cheng***            
  • Rebecca Cho**            
  • Jane Chung*        
  • Amanda Marie Compton**        
  • Annie Ditta***            
  • Joseph Henry**
  • Esmeralda Hernandez            
  • Lavina Ho*            
  • Matthew Johnston**
  • Dan Lahana*                
  • Eileen H. Lee**            
  • Nicole Lopez*
  • Melissa Muñoz                
  • John Naviaux**            
  • Andrew Nguyen**
  • Hoa Nha Nguyen**            
  • Nicole Nosrat            
  • Amber Nuetzel**
  • Leandra Ordorica*            
  • Ingrid Peterson**        
  • Syuzanna Petrosyan
  • Richard Ramos***            
  • Sara Sabour**            
  • Madiha Shahabuddin**
  • Elhum Shamshiri**            
  • Alina Sookasian**        
  • Andrew Silva**
  • Arshia Tajarrodkhah***            
  • Jocelyn Valencia**

Latin Honors:  * Cum Laude  |  ** Magna Cum Laude  |  *** Summa Cum Laude

2012 Order of Merit Ceremonial Recognition

Graduate Students

  • Sierra Powell, Political Science, Outstanding Graduate Student Service
  • Kristen Shorette, Sociology, Outstanding Graduate Student Scholarship
  • Benjamin Mis, Cognitive Sciences, Kathy Alberti Award
  • James Weatherall, Logic & Philosophy of Science, 2011-12 Lauds & Laurels Outstanding Graduate Student
  • Cailin O'Connor, Logic & Philosophy of Science, A. Kimball Romney Award for Outstanding Graduate Research Paper, “The Evolution of Vagueness”
  • Beijie Tang, Political Science, A. Kimball Romney Award for Outstanding Graduate Research Paper, "Path to Internalization: The Political Logic of Chinese Sovereignty"

Undergraduate Students

  • Nicole Nosrat, Social Science, Alice B. Macy Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Award, “The Biological, Psychological, and Social Adjustment of Community Service Scholarship Children from Violent Households”
  • Pichaya Kositsawat, Political Science and Comparative Literature, Elena B. & William R. Schonfeld Scholarship
  • Eileen Lee, Sociology, Outstanding Transfer Student Award
  • Myles Brady, Business Economics and Anthropology, David & Kristin Rosten International & Community Service Scholarship
  • Jocelyn Valencia, Sociology, School of Social Sciences Outstanding Honors Thesis Award, "Transnational Parenting: A Comparison of the Experiences of Salvadoran Immigrant Fathers and Mothers Separated from their Children"
  • Annie Ditta, Psychology, School of Social Sciences Alumni Award for Excellence
  • Margaret Chang Liao, International Studies, Caesar Sereseres Outstanding Service Award
  • Vanessa Chavez, International Studies, Caesar Sereseres Outstanding Service Award
  • Aaron McCullough, Sociology, Caesar Sereseres Outstanding Service Award



connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766