One or more awards will be made to the best empirical research paper(s) on a topic of sociological interest by an Undergraduate and Graduate student in the Sociology Program. This award honors the late Professor Robin M. Williams Jr., who served as a Distinguished Visiting Professor in the Department of Sociology here at UCI for more than fifteen years.

Papers should be no more than 35 pages and should represent original student work. Although papers co-authored with other students may be submitted for consideration, papers co-authored with faculty will NOT be eligible for consideration. Sociology students ONLY.

Award Amount It varies by year

Deadline (Undergraduate & Graduate): Friday, May 15th, 2020 by 12:00 noon.

Submission: Papers should be submitted electronically in PDF format to Maryann Zovak-Wieder (mzovak@uci.eduby noon (12pm) on Friday, May 15, 2020.

For additional information, please contact Maryann Zovak-Wieder at or by phone (949) 824-7637.

Undergraduate Recipients

2019: Nicole Balbuena

2018: Grazielle Valentim Figueredo

2017: Martha Morales & Erika Mey

2016: Langou Lian

2015: Laura-Elena Garza

2014: Ashley Leann Wright

2013: Bereket T. Shibeshi

2012: Gina Trujillo

2011: Gina Trujillo

2010: Carly A. Hiebert

2009: Amelia Stanford

2008: Timothy Mark Schowe

2007: Namanh Vu Hoang

Graduate Recipients

2019: Steven Mejia

2018: Megan Brooker

2016: Matt Rafalow

2015: Charles Ben Gibson and Burrel Van

2014: Tyson Patros

2013: Dana Nakano

2012: Kristen Shorette

2011: Elizabeth Chiarello

2010: Mariam Ashtiani

2009: Leah Ruppanner

2008: James Bachmeier

2007: Matthew Mahutga

2006: Makiko Fuwa

2005: Ping Ren

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766