The School of Social Sciences provides an award at the end of each academic year for an outstanding graduate paper identified through a School-wide competition.

Submissions may be course papers or other research papers prepared during the 2019-2020 academic year. Work completed between July 2019 through May 2020 is eligible for consideration. Papers should represent the student's own original research; they cannot be co-authored with other students, members of faculty or others. Papers will be accepted only from students and should be sent to Jennifer Gerson at by June 5, 2020.

Past prize-winning papers were exceptionally well-written and well-organized, properly documented and theoretically and conceptually sound. The writer must demonstrate knowledge of the current, relevant literature in the selected field of the research. There is no particular formatting requirement for papers submitted for this award.


2020: Mark Hup, Economics &
Will Stafford, Logic & Philosophy of Science

2019: Jessica Lee, Sociology, Rebecca Richart, Sociology and Patrick Testa, Economics

2018: Nikolaos Charalampidis, Economics

2017: Percy Mistry, Cognitive Sciences

2016: Michael Sacks, Economics

2015: Patricia Rodda, Political Science

2014: Dana Moss, Sociology

2013: Mark Berlin, Political Science and Benjamin Feintzeig, Logic and Philosophy of Science

2012: Cailin O’Connor, Logic & Philosophy of Science and Beijie Tang, Political Science

2011: Zack Almquist, Sociology

2010: Fatima Z. Rahman, Political Science and Jonathan Cook, Honorable Mention

2009: Elliot Wagner

2008: James D. Bachmeier

2007: Kathy H. Rim



© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766