This award recognizes a student for a paper that demonstrates original research.

Award Amount: $300


  • Submissions can be course papers or research papers, including those sponsored by the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP).
  • Honors theses will not be accepted for this paper competition.
  • Only work completed since spring of the previous year is eligible.
  • Papers cannot be co-authored with other students or faculty.

Online Application: CLICK HERE

Deadline: April 15, 2019

Past Recipients:

2019: Shelby Smith (Social Policy and Public Service)

2018: Joyce Nguy (Political Science & Education Sciences)

2017: Daisy Vasquez Vera (Chicano/Latino Studies & Political Science)

2016: Kathryn Romo (Political Science and Chicano/Latino Studies)

2015: Katie Cobian (Psychology and Chicano/Latino Studies)

2014: Hillary Patton (Cognitive Sciences and Criminology, Law & Society)

2013: Estefania Lopez (Political Science)

2012: Nicole Nosrat

2011: Annie Ditta

2010: Jacqueline Wu

2009: Brenda Andalon (Social Science)

2008: Diego Solares

2007: Kevin Smith


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766