If you're having trouble viewing this email, please visit:
spacer image

The Center for the Study of Democracy presents the Chancellor´s Distinguished Lecture and Jack W. Peltason Lecture featuring:

"The Future of Democracy
in Mexico and Latin America"
with Vicente Fox, President of Mexico (2000-06)

Wednesday, April 8, 2009
4:00 p.m.
Irvine Barclay Theatre
4242 Campus Drive; bldg 1 on campus map

Photo of Vincent FoxVicente Fox, former president of Mexico (2000-06), will headline the fourth of six UCI Chancellor’s Distinguished Lectures for 2008-09. A member of the country’s National Action Party, Fox’s six-year term in office marked the end of the Institutional Revolutionary Party’s 71 year political rule. Prior to his election to the presidency, Fox served as chief executive of Coca-Cola’s Mexico division from 1975-79 and governor of his home state, Guanajuato, from 1995-99. His public talk will focus on the future of democracy in Mexico and Latin America.

Ticket Information:
This event is free and open to the public. Tickets will be made available at the Irvine Barclay Theatre Box Office on a first come-first served basis beginning at 2:00 p.m. prior to the lecture with a limit of one ticket per person. Doors open for seating at 3:00 p.m. Backpacks and re-entry after seating will not be allowed. For further ticket details, visit www.thebarclay.org.

For further information, please contact the Center for the Study of Democracy at 949-824-2904.

About the Chancellor’s Distinguished Fellows Series:
The Chancellor’s Distinguished Fellows Series brings to UC Irvine global scholars and intellects who are illuminating the challenges and possibilities of our increasingly interdependent world. Click here to learn more.

About the Peltason Lecture:
The Peltason Lecture was established in 1999 to honor the contributions of former UC President and UCI Chancellor Jack Peltason and his wife Suzanne to higher education in America and, specifically, the study of the democratic process. Past Peltason lecturers have included leading international politicians, dignitaries and journalists who have shared their views on democracy around the world. Click here to learn more.

spacer image